Get angle for objetc movement direction

Hello again, I want to make a system where I get an angle, on the “Z” axis, which is obtained from the local direction of movement of the object, but I’m not getting it. I see people using the Numpy module or a “Vector.angle(Vector)” command on the internet, but none of them gave me what I wanted. Can anyone help me?

its dot product. x1x2 + y1y2 + z1z2

I’m a bit of a layman in that, I don’t know what you mean.

(vector1.x * vector2.x) + (vector1.y * vector2.y) + (vector1.z * vector2.z)
parentheses are not necessary i just added them to make it readable.

or better yet. let mathutils do it for you.
https://docs.blender.org/api/blender_python_api_current/mathutils.html?highlight=vector#mathutils.Vector.dot

so vector1.dot(vector2)
order doesnt matter. vector2.dot(vector1) yields same result.

1 Like

Thanks, one more thing, this first vector, which .dot () is applied, which vector can I apply to that? Since he can’t be zero.

depends on what vector you need, but you can make your own vectors.

vec = [0,0,1] # z vector of 1 unit

the object itself

vec = object.worldPosition.z.copy()

oreintation is also a vector.

Maybe i cant apply it, the result’s so bad, random numbers, i want euler or degrees orientation.

use

ori = obj.worldOrientation.to_euler()
print(ori.x)

or

import math
angle = 45
#radians to degrees
degrees = math.degrees(angle)
#degrees to radians
radians = math.radians(angle)

Everytime I read your replies with code like that, I die a little inside (in a good way). I spent SO MUCH TIME relearning old highschool maths to do that stuff the hard way, and months later I stumble across one of your posts with the whole thing way more easily calculated.

Maybe I should ask more questions in this forum :slight_smile:

orientation? you asked for an angle.

but getting it from dot product then finding the sign for that is a little too much alright. i get it.