Get Blender to work running a Python environment other than the default one

Hi there, first time posting here. I am relatively new to Blender and I am using a Python-based tool to automatically generate some blender simulations. Everything works fine until I try to use some of the functions on my tool to dynamically change the dynamics on Blender as the frames go by (imagine that gravity changes due to changes in position, for example).

When I try to unpickle some variables I would like to transfer (which contain objects of classes with imports on their methods), I get the following error:

ImportError: cannot import name ‘_ccallback_c’ from 'scipy.lib’ (C:/Users/pythonEnv/Lib/site-packages\scipy_lib_init.py)

This makes me think that Blender has found the site-packages I want it to use (on “pythonEnv”) but that it is not running with the python installation corresponding to those libs but with its own (the one you can find at “$PATH_BLENDER$/2.91/python/bin”). In fact, when I check for a sys.path.executable, it points to Blender’s python installation.

My intuition tells me that if I could run blender supported by this pythonEnv, the error would disappear since the data I want to unpickle exists without problem inside that environment.

Any suggestions or ideas?

Thank you very much!

TLDR: Can I run Blender with a python distribution other than the installed by default within Blender?

You can go to Blender’s pip (notice the dot for local dir in front) and do the install there.

D:\programs\graphics\blender29\2.91\python\Scripts>.\pip install scipy
Collecting scipy
  Downloading scipy-1.6.0-cp37-cp37m-win_amd64.whl (32.5 MB)
     |████████████████████████████████| 32.5 MB 6.4 MB/s
Requirement already satisfied: numpy>=1.16.5 in d:\programs\graphics\b

Then you try it

>>> from scipy.stats import norm
>>> norm.cdf(0)
  • There is also another way to install pip on the fly import pip just in case you want to automate this bit.