getting momentum (revving up)

Hi there , I have been using Blender for now a couple of months and am enjoying it so much ! Thing is , I am starting to hit a wall because my rusty antique PC just will not handle too many vertices or effects (and render time…is really slow) . I spoke with a friend who told me what I needed was a “gamer’s PC” (though I don’t play video games)

My old man said he would buy a computer according to those needs , and so I would like to have your advice : what hardware do you use for modeling with blender ? what’s most important (graphics card ? processor?) .

Hoping those questions aren’t too greasy and mundane for you of the dreamy eyes…

BTW :Oh , yeah , also , what do the pro studios use ? And can you achieve pro results on your own computer ?

If you can go Mac, get an iMac or a Mac Pro.
if it’s Windows you desire, here’s what I say.
If you plan on using GIMP or something along with Blender, a touchscreen HP Desktop is nice for that.
Or if you want a total powerhouse of a tower:

High Ram (4GB-8GB ideal, 16GB is crazy good, but expensive)
Good CPU (3.06-3.2 Ghz ideal)
Good HDD (500 GB-1 TB ideal, 7200 RPM is better, but 5600 is good enough for most)

My 2 cents

Eew, Mac…

Anyways, use your old monitor (assuming it’s 19’’ or up), no need for touchscreens which you’ll barely use or any of that type of bullshit.

I consider the CPU to be the most important part, since rendering relies heavily on it. The more cores the better! A dualcore CPU can give you around a 40% speed boost compared to a single core. Quad or tri-core is ofcourse better but more expensive. (To use all cores effectively, make sure you adjust the Threads setting in Blender before rendering!)