Getting rid of material indexes ?

Hi guys,

material indexes are one of these quixotic functions reminding that Blender was originally designed by techies for techies. Now that Blender 2.5 puts more focus on user and usability, I think time has come to weigh in and - at least in upcoming 2.5x or plus versions - have Blender purged from this counter-intuitive system and allow user to simply assign a material to a face. In term of design workflow speed - one of the features Blender excels in - it seems to me it would be a major improvement
On the other hand, I’m a kind of newbie in this forum and I know that many guys out here are very much attached to the way Blender has always been working. Maybe I’m missing something and indexes are indeed of precious use.

Any thoughts?

I realize that people vote without leaving a message. Maybe because I set the poll so it is not anonymous? Can a moderator set the poll back to anonymous?

Something you loose if you drop material index is the ability to have different objects with their own materials for an index.
the feature isnt used THAT much but it can be handy at times.

With direct material pointers to have the same functionality youd need some replacement table for materials instead (slower and more of a hassle to manage).

The workflow could be improved keeping indices’s, where you apply a material to selected faces and blender re-uses an existing index, or adds a new one if the material is not yet used in the mesh.

Thanks for your answer. :slight_smile:

Your post illustrates what I was talking about: you are answering to me in technical terms. IMHO what’s happening under the hood is of little interest to the designer as long as it does not have an impact on render times.