getting rid of the console window? (newbie)

hi all…
blender version 2.45
i’m just starting out in blender, don’t know anything about 3d rendering, (aside from watching go on movies) and i’ve downloaded it (
and orderd 4 books from amazon 2 on python 2 on blender
Introducing Character Animation with Blender
The Essential Blender: Guide to 3D Creation with the Open Source Suite Blender
Learning Python
Programming Python
)
btw i’m a java programmer by nature. (as well as some dotnet) so OO not new to me.
first thing first, how do i get rid of that annoying console window says complied with python version 2.5 ??
in java when you start a swing (GUI) based application with java.exe [Main Class to start ] you get a console window, and then the application itself ,but you can also start it with javaw.exe which was intended for this pourpuse, is that such a thing (or a swtich command line?) i really hate superflous windows on my task bar
about the mouse i have a simpe microsoft mouse, and i’m left handed so is there a optimal mouse for blender (will prefer wired one becouse it’s lighter)
also started to read Noob to Pro/Beginning, is updated for current version?
also is there a reason why selection is make with right mouse button, as i said i’m left handed, so i’m tempeted to change it, don’t know if it will be ok.
i also tried using the the lamp and for the life of me i cannot seem to figure how it’s rotation (pressing r) works, i usually just select it and press r and thing goes wild, does it matter where to i press r? are there other key combos?

If your on windows, your stuck with the console. I know on OSX there is no console, and I’m guessing (but could be wrong) that the console doesnt show on linux either. I think at some point there was talk of figuring a way to hide it, but that conversation seems to have been swept under the rug.