Getting Vertex global position

Greetings to all!
I have believed till yesterday, that if you add the vertex of a face to the position and multiply by the object’s orientation, you’ll get the global position of the vertex.
So far it doesn’t work. The orientation returns a 3X3 matrix with axis rotation percentage(note that this is my understanding, and I’m not very good with maths), and the position is a vector. The multiplication is possible, but the result is not obvious, and the position is certainly not correct.http://dl.dropbox.com/u/6162142/VertexPosition.jpg
So, does any of you have any ideas, or proven concept of this?

In my VertexBasedAO script I just used: (vertex_position_x * object_scaling_x) + object_position_x
It worked just fine.

So, you get each axis individually?
scaling? Yes, this can give a position. But I need to get the vertex position in an object without applying the rotation(this is when orientation comes in). If I rotate a the plane (red plane =blue rotated plane), I still want to get the global position of those vertices.

You can just use the worldTransform matrix to go from local to global space, since that includes position, orientation, and scale - all in one matrix.

The .blend example is attached.

Attachments

localToGlobal.blend (436 KB)

localToGlobal.blen
d\verts.py", line 25, in <lambda>
AttributeError: ‘KX_GameObject’ object has no attribute ‘worldTransform’
Blender Game Engine Finished

Thank you Goran, but, I get this error!

I’ve tested this for one point, and it seems to work:

from bge import logic as GL
from mathutils import Vector

objs = GL.getCurrentScene().objects
obj = objs['Cube']

x, y, z = 1., 1., 1.
P = Vector([x, y, z])
M = obj.worldOrientation
globCoords =obj.worldPosition + M*P

print(globCoords)

where x, y, z are the coordinates of P in the object reference coordinate system.

One point like, a point in an object. For the vertices are in local coordinates.