Giving an object a starting velocity

Hello!

I’m trying to simulate a bullet hitting a bullet trap. It seems to me the easy way to do this would be to start with the bullet a short distance from the front of the trap, turn on rigid body, tell it it’s travelling along Y at 1000 m/S, and press “play.”

Of course this doesn’t work, as there’s no way (that I can see) to tell the system the bullet is initially in motion.

I’m a total newb when it comes to animation, you’ll probably have to use small words with me. :smiley:

Let’s try to explain with small words only… :wink:

To give an impulse to a rigid body, you must animate it. You must keyframe its position and also the “Animated” option in the Physics tab.

For example, you want your bullet you hit the target around frame 100. Go to frame 100, position your bullet close from the target. Keyframe its position and the “Animated” option as OFF. (Bring your mouse over the option and press [I].) Go back to frame 99. Keyframe the “Animated” option as ON. Go back to frame 1. Move your bullet far away from the target and keyframe its position.

To make sure things work correctly, select the bullet, go into the Graph Editor, press [A] once or twice to select all, then [V] to set the keyframe handles type. Choose “Vector”. (Otherwise the bullet will speed up and down in between the keyframes.)

Press “Play”. It works! :wink:

Now, to give a specific speed to your bullet, you must do some math. Convert the speed into m/s. Good, you already have that. Divide the distance by the FPS you’ll be using to render. For example: 1000/24 FPS equals 41.666 meters per frame.

So, instead of “far away”, your bullet should be 41.666*99 meters away from the target at frame 1 to hit it around frame 100 at 1000 m/s. That’s 4125 m… And it’s stupid to work at this scale. :smiley:

Go into the Graph Editor, select everything in the list on the left and press [X] to delete.