Golden gip !

Hi everybody,
I’m new around here;)
I’m curently studying mechanical design and did this model on Solidworks 2005. My teacher kept saying me that the design was weird and the solution very expensive: “How many pieces are you gonna make out of it ?” he aked me once. “Only one! And I’ll make it out of gold !” was my answer :slight_smile: So here it is!
This is a Yafray HDRI render. I started to play seriously with blender 1 month ago. I still need a lot of anderstanding about material, texture and lighting…
Any critics and coments will be very welcome.

Dragonslayer

very good. A little too good actually. You should add some slight bumps to the metal to make it look realistic. O and by the way… Welcome to Blender! I find these forums great for getting advice. :slight_smile:

And I like the design. It could be usefully clamping things a regular clamp couldn’t since the handle is sticking out the back. I’m studying mechanical engineering so I like to see all the new gadgets people make.

nice render, i think you should turn down your photon lamp a bit though, the caustics are a bit too strong. also, i would edge up the red channel for the gold material.

Sorry for taking ages to aswer :rolleyes:

Thanks guys for your answers. Your 're both right. I’ve tried to make some changes and played around with the texture of my gold material but I’m not satisfied yet :frowning: I’d like to emulate tissue stroks on polished metal (if you know what I mean ?!), got any idea ???

Dragonslayer

Looks good. So did you do the whole model in Solidworks and then import it into Blender for rendering? For tissue strokes I assume the effect you’re after is a patina of greasy streaks on the metal. If so, there’s not really an easy way of doing it that I know of. I suggest UV mapping the metal sections, taking it into Photoshop, selecting a suitably streaky brush type and hand painting something which could then be used to influence the specularity of the metal.