GPU Accelerated Playback for Animation

Hey there, Blendbuddies. I hope you’re all having great holidays!

Quick bio here. I’m an actual professional working animator in the game/cg industry, mainly using Maya.
But I use Blender at home for experimentation and personal projects. :slight_smile:

I’ve done a few projects inside of Blender, mainly animation and rigs using the software capabilities. While it can be sluggish at times, I still had some fun with it and managed to complete a few nice motions like this one:

I think my biggest hindrance when using it was performance when moving the rig around and when making a live playback of the motion…

However, as I am now working on a project with a friend using Maya, Maya has a very nice ‘‘parallel evaluation’’ + ‘‘GPU acceleration’’ plug-in functions that greatly speeds-up and improve performance using GPU computing for rigs and animation.

Do you think this is far dream to expect this from Blender anytime soon? Has there been talk about it?

Speaking of which, I’m wondering, those who worked on the short films (Agent 327 and Cosmos Laundromat) what are the tricks they used to fasten the rigs and optimize their animation workflow for better performance?

The characters rigs used in these demos looked extremely heavy and I wondered how animators handled them…

Thank you. :slight_smile:

Well, I happen to be in the industry too and I can say that I find Blender to be one of the quickest to evaluate rigs. Just behind Maya obviously. Maya, since the new scene graph changes is a beast now. The list from slowest to quickest of the software I’ve used goes like this: Modo> C4D> Max> Blender> Maya. So if your evaluation is slow, it’s either your machine or the rig.