Grease Pencil Actions object Parent?

I’m new to Grease Pencil, and trying to figure out if I created Actions incorrectly, and also gain better understanding how Actions are stored (i learned from docs they are DataBlocks). *Please note I am Not dissing Blender, just trying to wrap my head around correct steps & architecture/concepts.

My project consists of a Collection of Grease Pencil Stroke objects, like Head, Mouth, Ears, etc that make up a single character. I also created an Armature which is a child of Scene Collection. I’ve parented the Stroke obj’s to the Armature and used Vertex Groups to successfully have IK, Deformation & Ctrl bones move the character’s Stroke objects.

Next created some Actions for the Armature and they work (thank you Blender! you are Awesome): using these steps > Object mode selected Armature, in Action Editor use New btn to create/name new Action, then Pose mode to set keyframes for individual Armature bones. My assumption was the Actions would somehow only be DataBlock children of the Armature.

In the 1st screenshot (the NLA) the “HeadTurn_Up” Action Strip / Track is under the first Stroke obj in the GP Collection, even though the Action is all bone keyframes. Actually the various bones from the Action control several other face Stroke objects, and not the Head.

When I checked Outliner, it shows the same relationship (if New btn is selected in ActionEditor) and the only Animation children of the Armature are NLA Tracks (makes sense those ones are there). Then if I scroll through the Actions stack, that next Action name shows up as a child of the 1st Stoke obj, and also under the Armature (both places):
GreasePencil_Outliner_Actions_objectOf_StrokeObj

Back in NLA, if I have Armature selected, and choose the “HeadTurn_Up” action from the stack, now the Action Strip/Track shows up under both Stroke obj & the Armature: