Great Knife *need help

Hello, I need a little bit of help with UV Unwrapping, I can’t quite get the hang of it and I want to make a texture for this weapon I’ve created. I’ve followed a bunch of tutorials but I have yet to find anything helpful on seam placement and whatnot.

Attachments

phblad2.blend (160 KB)

That is a lot of triangles. I’m not good at texturing but I know enough to know that unwrapping that knife is gonna be a mess if you stick with all those triangles.

Whoa, that’s a CG artist’s nightmare, look at all those triangles! go to Mesh>Faces>Convert Tris to Quads.

The best place to add a seam is where you wouldn’t notice the join as the two edges of the uv Image meet or where the material colours change. Although you can use texture painting to hide the seems it is easier to not have to. For more complex models you also need to consider how the model will unfold onto a 2d surface with minimal distortion.

In this case along the blade edge and optionally around the end of the handle.

WOOOO! TO MANY TRIANGles!
Ok, look, I am going to give the grestest tip ever for texturing,
tab, then select all the verts from the view your looking at( hit b once or twice I believe to get the circle select tool, occulude background geometry also!), hit u, then hit project from view, What is this? It unwrapped in the direction you were looking! now uv map(look it up) and texture it!

Only do that if you are facing the selected faces directly. Otherwise you will get stretching. And you don’t want that.

And yeah, try to build your meshes in quads, they’re much easier to manage. If they have to be tri’s in the end you can always convert them when your mesh is done and unwrapped (using Ctrl + T).

Ahhh, I was working with triangles because I was working on a mod for torchlight, and I noticed all the models were compiled with em. I didn’t know whether I should do that or not.

Thanks for the tips, I greatly appreciate it.