Grid squares not further dividing on zoom in

Hey, I’m pretty new to blender and am having an annoying problem (even moreso that it’s probably an obvious fix). When I zoom in closer, the grid usually splits up into more smaller grids, recursively. I must’ve hit something by accident as it no longer does that on one of my projects, must be a setting saved in the .blend file too as a restart doesn’t fix it.
Anyone know the way to fix this?
Help would be much appreciated :slight_smile:

(also on a side note, is there any way to delete unnecessary edges splitting up object faces? I have a lot of triangles that could be made into 4-pointed shapes - I know it doesn’t make much difference but it niggles at me… Whenever I try to delete them it deletes a range of things I don’t want it to.)

Assuming you are using 2.49…

Perhaps you have enabled Perspective view? Numpad 5 to toggle between Perspective and Orthographic.

ALT+J to convert triangles to quads.

…and welcome to blenderartists… :slight_smile:

Yup, 2.49b.
Changing the view didn’t make any difference sadly, still just zooms into blank grey, but ALT+J is exactly what I was looking for, thanks! :smiley:

(I had been fiddling with the View & Controls so I’m guessing it’s something on there, but can’t find it myself)

You can only zoom in so far if your objects are small. It doesn’t go on indefinitely. Increase the size of your objects or go to View / View Properties. A panel will appear. You can set grid divisions in these settings. Increasing the grid divisions will give you finer grid squares.

Tried that with no avail, then discovered, to my horror and embarrassment, that the viewpoint was slightly off, the simple solution just hitting NUM 7 3 or 1… :no:
Thanks for your help anyway guys, tis much appreciated :slight_smile:

Found this on Google when looking for the solution to same problem (thread title) so I thought I’d give an answer to exactly that despite this thread’s age.