Guide to Mancandy

Forgive me if this question has been done already. My searches turned up hundreds of things people have done with Mancandy…

…but what I want it a “how to” intro on using the lil’ guy. Is there one?

And how come if I select the Mancandy mesh in Object mode and then go into Edit mode (to, say, make his nose longer) the main torso from waist up disappears?

Wanting to use Mancandy to speed up a bit of preproduction animation (likely to be done in Maya because of where I am studying). Right now he’s just confusing me.

Bassam (the creator of Mancandy) and the Blender foundation are coming out with a training DVD on how to use Mancandy … I don’t know the release date … but sometime soon …

But if you want some pointers … Bone layers - almost every bone layer is used (and for specific types of controls - IMO very hard to grasp for those new to armature animation) … the fingers are controlled by rotating and scaling … and if you are using the “Mr. Fantastic” version of Mancandy a lot of lattices …

If you are wanting a basic “block in” sort of rig you might want to look at something by Calvin or Sketchy’s Ludwig … Mancandy has developed into a very complex example of rigging/skinning possibilities in Blender …

… And does the “disappearing torso” reappear when you hit Alt-H ? If so most likely he needed to fix something in the legs and the torso got in the way somehow and he hid it from view and saved the file without restoring the rest of the mesh into view … like I said it has gotten very complex …

Thanks Vertex Pusher.

Yes, ALT-H does work. Lucky I asked, because I was assuming there was a layering problem and was about to go on a fruitless search in the file. Think I might also check out the Ludwig character you mentioned.