Guilty Cravings.

Alright, I have to admit that I’ve been craving a high end 3D program. I love Blender, I do, and I can’t help but feel that it has been more of a stepping stone for me than an ending place. So, what I want to ask you all, is where should I start? I’m not going to abandon Blender, but I want something that can augment Blender. I’m debating between Maya 6 Ultimate and Lightwave 8. I’m a student, so the astronomical prices don’t hurt so much. ($700, v. $7000) What do you all think?

i felt the same way. I want to have a successful 3d venture, and that means possibly a career change. I decided to learn how to use max and maya, but after awhile, i leaned towards maya. it is so useful to be proficient in maya in the world of cg. im not leaving blender behind, just pushing it to the side.

as the title says “guilty cravings,” i know what you mean. at first, i felt bad disconnecting myself to blender, but now i realize how much good it did to me. With blender, i aquired a knowledge of 3d graphics in general. i had no idea how 3d graphics were made. it is a great program to pick up easily. if i had started with maya, it would have been disastrous.

maya has features like fluids, cloths, fantastic particles,etc. that blender wont have for a long time. it is a great program to advance your cg knowledge and quality. if you have questions, pm me or landis.

p.s. if you cant afford maya, it is an option to do you know what to get it.

~nate

Nothing to feel “guilty” about. You use the tool(s) that are right for a particular job. Just make sure that all of the license-fee costs can be passed through as cost-of-goods to some paying client.

Also have to remember that the student versions have the license where you can’t make money from your work in it :slight_smile:

But Maya is a great program (I hear lightwave is too, the general gist from what I’ve heard though, is that Maya is better).