H.264 and "round corners" (II): analysis of problem! - but now looking for workflow?

A couple of weeks ago I asked if anyone knew a solution for an H.264 encoding problem I had (and still have) and I got a first couple of helpful answers, but no final working solution yet. So I investigated further, asked in the ffmpegX forum and found a user who is very knowledgeable with codec stuff and who was able to analyse the problem for me, but now I still need to find out how-to implement what he tells me.

The short version:

“Encoding with 4:4:4 subsampling rather than 4:1:1 would eliminate both these problems. But I’m not sure how widespread the support for 4:4:4 h.264 is.”

The long version:

the thread in the ffmpegX forum (including a .tga sample image and a 1 sec. H.264 test) can be found here (forum.videohelp.com).

Since I am still learning about the finer details of chroma subsampling etc. I would need a simple to understand, practical solution for this, some kind of known workflow to achieve:

“Encoding with 4:4:4 subsampling rather than 4:1:1 would eliminate both these problems.”

Can this be done with blender…? Maybe with the Compositing Nodes? Which nodes would I need? Or does anyone know of another Mac software, preferably freely available, that does this?

The thing is that the H.264 encoding artefacts/problems I have are so bad that I can’t publish my soon to be finished short like that, it just looks too bad. Very frustrating. I would also use another codec, but it would need to be as widely used as H.264 (not just by one company) and of course bring good results (and: any MPEG based codec seems to have the same problems that I have in this case with H.264!).

Thanks for any tips…!

You have to weigh up what your delivery method is. For online content, the H264 sample you posted on the link looked ok to me. 4:4:4 probably won’t be supported in many places: