Hair is coming off??

Hello, this is my first post here. I am reading Tony Mullen’s Introducing Character Animation with Blender.

I have my model and have set up my rig. However, the hair / scalp does not follow along with the rest of the head when it is animated. I was able to parent everything else or attach it to the rig directly, but the hair just wants to hang in space.

Screen shots are attached.

Thank you for your replies in advance!

Attachments

parent the hair to the scalp. im not very good with this so im not exactly sure

Thanks for the reply Brados.

unfortunately that did not seem to work. Any other suggestions anyone?

Is the scalp mesh a separate object, with its own proper name, or is it a disconnected piece of the main character mesh? If you didn’t separate it from the character mesh, you should check to see if it’s weighted properly to the same vertex group as the head.

-K

It is actually a seperate mesh. I have attached 2 more images that show the same as before but without the body mesh.

I tried to include the Blend file itself but it was too big

Attachments

you gotta weight paint the base mesh of the hair with the head bone selected.

Make sure you are in pose mode - select the head bone - then select the body mesh and go to weight paint mode - then paint that bugger with a solid weight of 1 and it should follow the bone around.

When you say base mesh, you mean the emitter right?

I did do that, the emitter is quite red in weight paint mode, attached to the head bone. And the emitter moves along with the armature, its just the hairs that stay still.

I tried painting directly on the hair to no avail.