Halloween Contest - Draculold & Grumpy

Hi,

I’m pretty new to blender so am learning my way by taking part in the contests. I had a go at the Blender Cookie robot and am now trying my hand with the Halloween Contest… been at this one for a couple of weeks.

Here’s my concept - A grumpy, and very gummy, old Dracula - basically past-it and lost his mojo…

[edit - concept attached below]

Kinobe

Attachments

Working from the concept I set about my first ever blender sculpt (after much tutorial watching on blender cookie!)…

This isn’t finished yet - but it took me a while to get this far, so moved on to the hand for a change and keep my interest up. I decided to model a hand and try to learn about posing and rigging, etc. - I’ve got this so far.

I must say, I found the sculpting quite intuitive on the head, and was very pleasantly surprised with the auto-weights when applying the armature to the hand - I used the rigify addon and deleted most of the biped skeleton leaving a single forearm and hand to work with.

Still got tons to learn about to help finish this - texture painting, hair, etc… I’m having fun though :smiley:

kinobe

The idea is great, and your modelling/sculpting looks good from what I can see so far. No critiques yet.

me too. It goes smoothly and nice! :smiley:

Great workflow, I can see the essence of a hand.

Thanks all for positive comments. Good to know I’m not making glaring mistakes. Although I’ve been modelling as a hobbyist for a good 6/7 years now, I’ve never bitten the sculpting bullet before…

Anyway here’s a little update on the hand, adding in some of the sinews/saggy skin/nails to make it look really old. This is only at level 3 so far and still needs finer details and some reworking, but I’m done for today.

…oops just noticed, there is a slight mishap with the grab brush on the wrist there in the 2nd two images :o

kinobe.

Boy I like where this is going. Good job.