Halo effect and a curve

Hello,
I’m new to Blender and need your advice on some issues (posted previously on other forum, sadly with no reply) Here’s the first one:

In tutorials on making a light saber they usualy advise to make the neon part by putting meny vertices in a row and turning the halo effect on.
Surely it is nonsense to use more than two poits to define a line or anything concerning a line. So how can I use halo effect on a line/curve?

(any help appreciated :slight_smile: )

Hi,

Welcome to Blender and welcome to these boards!

Please note, News and Discussion isn’t the place to post questions such as these - people are more likely to answer your query if it appears in the right place.

Halos operate on vertices, not edges or curves. You’ll need to subdivide your edge so there are lots of vertices running down it.

Thanks,
i will try to move from News and Discussion, sorry.
Vertices and edges are so close geometrically and making a glowing line by putting redundant data ( points on the line ) seems so stupid. It’s really really hard to believe it must be done this way :frowning:

A halo is like a circle that is active on a vertice. In other words, each vertex is displayed as a ‘halo’ (which is generically a little circle, but many effects are possible with textures and dynamic shadows and such). So, you have to have a lot of circles to make up the beam. Another way to do it would be via a cylinder (with few vertice’s, if you like) and use render layers and glow from nodes to get it to work. However, assuming you are a beginner, i’d use halo’s, and get into nodes a little later. Once you get materials :smiley:

BTW: To turn on the ‘Halo Effect’, simply click ‘Halo’ in the material’s buttons window :smiley:

If you’re talking about the tutorial that i think you are, it was written before arrays and such, which are definitely the way to go for lightsabers.