Having trouble with compositing changes not being applied to final render

Sorry I’m very new to Blender VSE, I’m using Blender version 2.63. I’ve added a video in the timeline that I want to add some color correction and sharpening to. In the compositor I have added a Image, bright/contrast, sharpen, composite and viewer nodes. I can see the changes applied (when backdrop check box is ticked), the problem is when I go to render it out, none of the changes I made have been applied. I tested my theory out using the invert node, just in case the changes I made had been applied but were to subtle to see. When It was rendered, sure enough it rendered the video clip without inverting the color.

So it appears that I’m missing a step or two, what am I doing wrong?

Attachments

afaik, the sequencer gets computed unrelated to compositor and after compositor. So my understanding: regardless of what you have in compositor it takes the sequencer data. Maybe if you make a new Scene for Compositing and add this Scene (to other scene) Sequencer it works?

The sequencer looks at existing files. It does not “re-generate” what it sees. My guess is that those files are not up-to-date. You may need to verify that the strips are pointing at the right files or directories, and that all of the information in those directories is current.

Do compositing step before importing the result into the VSE for editing.

You can do the compositing in another scene and place that in the VSE as a strip as bashi suggests.

You can go to my blog and see other ways to do this (from VSE to Compositor and back). There is a script to do this :wink:

Thanks guys,