HD4650 not supported GPU?

Hi,

as a total noob to Blender I had tried it out on my HP DM1 ( E-350 APU) and was very pleasantly surprised. Having experimented a bit with the software I thought I’d try and install it on my older but faster desktop (Vista32, 2GB, Phenom8450, HD4650). Which I did…

It loads just fine, appearantly, however when I go into the user preferences/system I am not able to select the HD4650 as a computing device. It just states NONE and only has the CPU available to render. I have tried the latest stable build of blender and the latest available development version in the .63 range and both exhibit this behavior.

I found the user preferences.py file and found this document: http://www.blender.org/documentation/blender_python_api_2_62_release/bpy.types.UserPreferencesSystem.html#bpy.types.UserPreferencesSystem.compute_device_type but there I get stuck. I thought I might be able to force the system into that mode, but I don’t know how/where/what.

I checked the systems list the blender developers are using and the HD4650 is on there, thus supported, according to that list. http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Doc:2.6/Manual/Introduction/Installing_Blender

Can I be helped? Uhm… nah, that’s a lost cause… Rather my issue then? :wink:

edit: oh, and yes, I have tried several different GFX driver versions from the AMD support site.

Best regards,

Kompressor

I cannot even begin to tell you what a bummer this is…
I have just spent every minute of the afternoon and evening fighting with this issue. I have downloaded and installed all but none of the previous drivers for the card that are available at AMD. This even goes back far into the ATI time. Whatever I do, whatever I boot… Blender will not see anything else to render on then the CPU. No GPU, no Loveland. Nothing. What the… ???

Your graphics card just does not meet the minimum requirements for opencl rendering.
http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Doc:2.6/Manual/Render/Cycles/GPU_Rendering