HDR effect

(guster3D) #1

hey all,
ive been doing some test with the game engine lately and ive been having some ideas. firstly HDR effect or a light bloom effect when exiting dark areas. in the screen shot ive tried to create this affect. its my first try at it, and no doubt it will look a lot better in the end (im already thinking of some new stuff :D).

when exiting a building i want the light bloom to be very bright and slowly fade to normal, i was thinking of having a sensor on the outside of the door, but how would i have this interact with the play, would i have a touch sensor or something like that, and how would i move and object if a sensor was touched by the player? this is key since the HDR was created by a textured plane that i plan on moving to make the effect seem like it is fading

after a few tweaks:::
http://img83.imageshack.us/img83/58/hdrtest22oa.th.jpg

http://img122.imageshack.us/img122/782/hdrtest38zx.th.jpg

with out!
http://img83.imageshack.us/img83/8527/hdrtest41na.th.jpg

0 Likes

(HERETIC) #2

Nice graphic on your images :smiley:
Continius work!

0 Likes

(themonkey) #3

Dan that is looking great! I think it should be just a little less bright…or let us see better just a little bit. But the idea is really good an I think it will help set us apart :slight_smile: Looking forward to more updates!

0 Likes

(Monster) #4

I think your idea is going into the right direction.

I would do like that:

First determine the player goes from inside to outside.
When leaving the dark area show your light bloom effect and lets fade it out.
On the opposite you could do a dark bloom when entering the dark area.

What I would do:

have 2 areas around the door with 2 materials on the ground:

A–door–B

Material A is on the end of the dark area
Material B is on the end of the light area

Have a property darkness. Make sure it has the right startup value. Have a collision sensor on the player for materials. A touch sensor would do it as well.