Hello!

Hello all I’m new to Blender and these forums.
I’ve been watching some tutorials and have learned most of the basics but is there a good tutorial on modeling sets for films in blender? also characters?
And another question, my laptop takes quite a while to render an animation (3 second animation took like 25 minutes.) Is this normal? And if it is not what would be the best computer to get? My budget isn’t huge but just curious.
Thanks for any help I will get!

Hello & welcome!

yes, depending on what resolution, polygon ammount and other rendering features utilized,
rendering can be a very long process, so not to worry too much about that.

I would suggest getting either a propper pre-built workstation or building one your self,
but I don’t think one is needed for learning, so you should probably be fine for now,
it would be smart to start collecting some money for future though. :slight_smile:

lets say putting $10 /month aside should get you $120 in a years time which isn’t much for a workstation,
but it would be a start, I’d estimate if your building your own new machine rather than buying a pre-built,
500+ should get you a good starter machine, that might be perhaps not the most powerful speced,
but would be a machine that should be easily upgradeable in the future.

:slight_smile:

Hi Hwk10, welcome to the forums!
25 minutes for a 3 second animation does seem a bit excessive to me, but it really depends on whats in your scene and how many meshes, how many polys, and what kind of materials and lighting you have. Your computer could also lead to slow renderings, if its really old or not made for graphics. That said, it sounds like you could optimize the rendering a bit. That just takes practice and messing with things.I would look at some rendering tutorials, you should be able to find some here on the tutorial section of the forums.