Help/Advices to get better into Geometry Nodes

I played a while around with geometry nodes and unfortunately don’t get really warm with it. For me it is really hard to “think” in a way, geometry node is intended to be used to get to a result. And whenever i find a tutorial how to solve it, i really think “no way to figure it out yourself!”, even if the soulution seems to be simple. Even or maybe precisely because I am a programmer, the most time it feels very counter intuitive to me …

For example, if i want to create random structures using curve primitives … the “programmers” way to think: create one random generated curve and then put it in a loop to generate as much random as i want … but it seems, its not intended to be used like this, since there are no loops or so. Instead, its about creating 10 different “random” curve objects and let a node “pick” random from this collection and place it along your points … even getting 10 different random values in a group seems to be difficult or even impossible to realize.

All in all it feels very laborious to get to even simple results and i don’t get to the point to leave tutorials and create it from my own mind.

Sorry, that should not be to blame geometry nodes from my side, but its a bit frustrating

So my question to you to solve this … do you have some tipps how to “think” like a geometry node-pro ? How do you tackle concrete task that you have to solve?

Best regards and thanks a lot

Hello !

Have you tried to do GLSL programming ? I’m not a programmer but the way it works look very similar to me. I think this way of working is called SIMD : https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Single_instruction,_multiple_data
And it’s how GN and Houdini works. Which might be different from what you’ve been used to do in programming.

Probably once you get used to that mindset your programmer mind will help you and it will be easier for you.