Help Compiling Blender with Cygwin

I started by first attempt at building Blender with Cygwin. I used the tutorial by Hos and I got up to the part of actually compiling the code. I made the user-def.mk file with the line ‘export FREE_WINDOWS=true’. Then I entered the command in Cygwin, echo ‘export FREE_WINDOWS=true’ > user-def.mk.

FInally I entered the command “make”.

I got this message-

$ make
====> make all in blender/dlltool
Makefile:1: nan_definitions.mk: No such file or directory
make[1]: *** No rule to make target `nan_definitions.mk’. Stop.
make: *** [all] Error 1

What am I doing wrong? Thanks for your help folks.

How do I make a file called “nan_definitions.mk”?

Also can I follow this same compling tutorial by hos to complie Tuhopuu?
How can I Checkout the Tuhopuu module from the Tuhopuu tree and the the lib/windows module?

Blend on!

Hi

I’m a newbie at this as well but I actually did this myself for the first time using Cygwin the other night. I have successfully built the 2.34 from the cvs, and tuhopuu2 (using cvs) following the instructions at http://www.theappleman.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/compiletut.html. Make sure you have all the packages he suggests installed. Both a running fine in windows.
The only difference (if I remember right) was to replace
‘cvs -z3 -d:pserver:[email protected]:/cvsroot/bf-blender co blender’ with ‘cvs -z3 -d:pserver:[email protected]:/cvsroot/tuhopuu co tuhopuu2’
(in the next step I think you still get the lib using bf-blender co lib/windows, as I don’t think the is one at the tuhopuu project)
Hope this helps.

Cheers and good luck.

Thanks xymox12, I’ll try this out.

Bash doesn’t work now. Arghhhhhhh!

I’m getting this when I type mkdir bf-blender-

bash-2.05b$ mkdir bf-blender
bash: mkdir: command not found
bash-2.05b$

I’m trying to fix this with who knows what process. Reinstall , reboot who knows. Do you have any ideas?