Help Creating a Character

I use reference images to make characters
I know how to make arms, hands, legs, torso etc
But when it comes to joining them together it is messy even if I use the union modifier noting that the models I make are not simple and it’s exhausting to fix everything manually
How can I merge legs, arms and head to torso without creating such a mess??

I’m not good at character modeling myself, that’s why i gave it up, but most of the time, people make everything in one block. It’s a lot of fail and retry in the beginning. Start with a cube, shape out the all body and add loops on the go where needed to add further details.
I don’t know any good recent tutorial as when i tried to model characters it was at the time of blender 2.5 XD

1 Like

Making a high poly one from a block is hard for me, I tend to start from a cylinder for thighs then I go down for legs and continue back till the neck but attaching the arms and head that I made separately with bool leaves a mess that is not easy to fix manually because I start with a 32 edge cylinder… Maybe I should try again or make it a first person one since I can make good arms
I don’t want to give up too, but it’s frustrating xD
Thanks for your reply :smiley:

I recommend starting with half a cube with mirror modifier. And start extruding arms, legs and head. Getting the simplest form with correct proportions. Then slowly add detail with edge loops and more extruding.

1 Like

The only logic here is to keep the number of edges the same for all connections. Because that way you will get consistency. As for example if you say that you can pick the number of 8 edges you can go with it for all of the parts. The arms the neck the legs.

character_sample.blend (605.6 KB)

Perhaps if you need more edges than 8 in some part you can always split or join edges in any way you want. Also you can form nice [triangles] in places where it doesn’t matter (such as under clothes / gear / under the arms).

1 Like