Help: Force along a single Axis?

I was wondering, is there a way to keep the force applied to an object along an axis to stay along that axis? (ie. When the object rotates, the force is applied in the new direction) I have a character, and would like to use the force movement, but when you turn, it slides too much. And if this is not possible/practical, is there a work around?

I think you’re referring to “local” force. Use the “L” button next to the force on the motion actuator.

For sliding, you can adjust the friction on the material. One the materials tab, look for “DYN” near the color options. Click on this and then adjust the “Friction” slider.

I actually didn’t mean the Local force exactly. That just means force is added along the Axes of the object, instead of the Global Axes. I want the Force to not only be added only along a single Local axis, but to remain along that axis, no matter what direction it’s turned.

I’m still a beginner but I was able steer a dynamic object accurately and accelerate/brake it with a little bit of python. It took me days to figure it out and would probably take me the rest of today to post a example of the code. You might know that you can get and set velocity as triplets ie x,y and z components.

I chose the local y direction of my object as being straight ahead. I didn’t use actuators but applied force to the y direction only. When I rotated the object to steer it, it went all over the place. So whenever I steer it (using a script) I give it a velocity of zero in its local x direction.

If you continue to study python and experiment with the console you will figure these things out, plus a lot more.

Is there a way to set the total force of an object to a certain amount using Python? I figured out how to use it to access actuators and sensors, etc, but not set the forces of an object. Can anyone give a sample script (just a few lines) that shows the syntax, etc, of how it would work?