help installing blender on Linux Mandrake computer

hello all,
i am trying to install blender on an old pc that i recently converted to Madrake 10. i am following these
http://download.blender.org/documentation/html/chapter_installation.html
directions, which are the same as the ones in the blender 2.3x manual. i am trying to install v 2.32 from the disk that comes with the manual. after completing most of the instructions, the final thing to do is: "To start blender just open a shell and execute ./blender, of course when running X. "

everytime i do this, i get the error message
“./blender: error while loading shared libraries: libstdc+±libc6.2-2.so.3:
cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory”

i am really new to linux (3 days) and have no idea what to do now. Can anyone help?

go into the package manager [in the mandrake control center] and instal libstc6

of course, that is iirc, last version of mandrake I used was 8.2

thanks for the suggestion, but there is no package available (from the installation) called libstc6

oooh, one more thing. the version of linux that i have (mandrake 10) says i586, while the blender distribution says i386. could this be the problem? is there anyone here who has gotten blender installed successfully on mandrake 10? if so, how?

I do not have Mandrake 10, but I do have 9.1. In 9.1, you do not install Blender, you merely extract it. Once you have extracted it to a folder, then you should be able to run it just by clicking on it. If it will not start up, then go to the folder where it is and press Ctrl + T to open a terminal at that location. Type in ./blender to run the application. If it does not start, it should give you an error message that will give you a better idea of what is going wrong.

i just tried doing exactly that, and it gave me the same error message. im wondering if it would b a good idea for me to switch to v 9.1.