[help] join two differant faces

hello, I’m new to blender.
I like to modeling a bottle with square bottle body and round bottleneck.
after I modeling tow part of them, I have no idea to join them.
please give me advice.

Well it is really only possible to bridge two loops if they have the same number loop vertices, but basically you do this (in object mode).

1. Select the bottle. Hold shift, select the cap.
  2. CTRL-J to join the two objects into one object
  3. Tab into edit mode
  4. Select the top loop of the bottle, alt- right click the top loop.
  5. Hold down shift, hold down alt, and right click the bottom loop on the cap. Both loops should be selected.
  6. let go of the keys. Press w->looptools->bridge.

Sometimes bridge has problems with choosing the correct verts to fill, and you might need to do a couple by hand. Good luck with your gin bottle. To fill a face, select 4 verts and press ‘f’

Actually that’s not strictly true anymore, but I recommend only attempting to bridge two loops if they have the same number of vertices. You can bridge uneven loops, but you’ll get triangles, and that’s best avoided. Try to make sure they do have the same number of vertices.

As an alternative to the loop tool addon and its bridging function, you can now use the built-in Bridge tool (no addon needed i mean) from CTRL+E -> Bridge Edge Loops (or Mesh -> Edge -> Bridge Edge Loops) and press F6 to edit the function the way you need.
It’s able to bridge uneven loops too, but as K. Horseman , be prepared for triangles

Excellent points from Horseman and Sanctuary on uneven loops. I use it so much I kind of forget that looptools is an add-on. And as it always seems to be a thorn in the punchbowl, I go to great lengths to keep most models all quads.

Heh, I skimmed so quickly I didn’t even realize you were suggesting LoopTools. I thought you were suggesting what Sanctuary suggests. :spin:

Delete bottle body.