Help-Selecting in Blender

Ok so the title is worded a bit weird. My issue isn’t really with selecting. First the back story, I’ve been using blender for about 3 months so I’m no expert but I do know my way around. With limit selection to visible turned on I experience something very wierd (also works-or doesn’t, with this turned off). When I attempt to select an edge, vertice or face some of the time it works and selects without a problem, but the other times I right click an edge, face or vertice and an edge on the other end of the model is selected. This is not to be confused as an edge on the other side of the model…say I’m making a helicopter and looking at it from the side (this is actually the case) I’ll select an edge, face or vertice on the nose of it, and one on the tail or one on a propelor will be selected instead.

This just started happening today, before it worked perfectly. Anyone have any ideas as to what is causing this? Oh yeah…I did remove doubles and that still doesn’t change anything. This was all I could really think of doing, and it seems noone on the entire internet has had this issue so I figured I’d stop here. Thanks for any and all help

On the 3D View menu bar in edit mode find the buttons that let you select between vertex, edge, and face select mode. The last button is a little cube. Click it.

Hope this helps.

yeah thats the limit visible selection to visible button and no, this happens when its on or off.

Heh, it sounds like I didn’t read carefully enough. You’ve got a really odd problem I’ve never encountered before. Are you using an experimental or other non-release version of blender?

Possibly your mesh has been corrupted. Try clicking the XSort button and see what happens…

Another possibility is that your OpenGL driver is corrupted.

I think there is an option in the preferences to select back faces.