Help ~ Steps to my Modeling goals.

I’m very new to Blender, but what I have seen, it is far beyond what I’d ever use it for, at least far beyond what I could ever see me using it for. I have one goal with blender, and am so overwhelmed by it’s abilities that I haven’t the slightest idea on where to start.

My needs with blender, are to take a model of a person (I have gotten that far) and rig clothing to it, that I would make, and have the model ‘wear’ them, without any cloth physics or anything. Just a blob of mesh, shaped and formed to look like a clothing item, and follow the person’s movements. so my question, really would be, how do you do that? what steps would I have to work from, knowing next to nothing about Blender, aside from the fact it could handle my needs without breaking a sweat. :confused:

The_Gem, I don’t want to make you feel bad, but I’ve been at blender for about 4 years now, I still don’t know it inside out, I use belnder for a number of hours a day - I’m learning stuff all the time. I’ve no idea how long you’ve been at it, but I would suggest to just hang in there, practice, check other tuts, look at other peoples blends from blendswap.com - and if you’ve the money, check out blender’s e-shop for books and dvd training.

What you want to do, may sound a simple enough task - we see it in films and adverts etc all the time, but the experience of those people who produce it and also the amount of people that can be involved is hidden to most non CG artists, but just to do this kind of stuff really well takes a lot of time to learn. If you’re looking for a quicker approach I’d suggest Daz Studio or Poser - although that said, prepare to take several months or even a year or so to get fully sorted. :wink:

Ok, the clothes mesh thing is a challenging problem. I haven’t yet conquered it so hopefully someone who has can set you perfectly straight, but here are a few ideas: