Help with an excavator!

Hi
i have made in blender an excavator for a project i have in my university. But i have this problem. I wanted the excavator to move so i puted some bones and made o short animation of the machine which is realy simple as it shows the bucket and the other parts just moving around a little bit. As this is not so useful for me i wanted to ask if there is a way in blender that i can give commands to the excavator and make it move, or excavate or just change buckets so that i can really show how 3d animation can help in the construction industry. Has this something to do with the game engine and if yes do you think that it will be really difficult to achieve it as i am a blender newbie?
Thanks very very much and sorry for my english!

Hello Sofia and welcome to BGE foruns.

Yes there is! You could use the keyboard sensors inside the “Pac man” button for this (also known as logic button, F4). It is not that difficult.

At the moment we can do animation using bones, ipos and physics and then make it play in realtime using sensors. It would be cool if you try to make your excavator using physics, you can do a search for “hinges”, but it is a little more complicated.:wink:

Please take a look inside the Blender Game Engine Resource foruns, there is a lot of cool things such this: http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?t=56842 (<<< take a look at the logic bricks movie).

I hope that helps. :slight_smile:

I don’t recommend physics if you want to keep it simple. I’ve made a mobile crane with physics, but it took dozens of hours of tweaking with physics and python scripts. Ipos or bones would be much easier.

Has this something to do with the game engine

yes the game engine

and if yes do you think that it will be really difficult to achieve it as i am a blender newbie?

no , it’s too easy , use keyboard sensors and action/ipo actuator and a controller in the logic brick section , it’s simple .

by this you it will be interactive