Help with Bones... and Objects.

Hi.
I am parenting objects to bones. But when I am getting the parent of the objects I get just the Armature. Is it posible to get the specific bone?
After that can I get the pose values of the bone and translate them to object Ipo?
Any help is wellcomed.
Thanks.

ob.getParentBoneName()

Thanks ideasman42.
I am new in Blender Api.
Now how I can set the parent of an Object to be a Bone.

you cant at the moment, may be worth adding to the api. do you need it or just interested?

I need it.
I am trying to create a way that I can use bone animation and get results in BGE with Bullet physics.
The aproch that I taked was to find the vertexs that are in the group of any bone. Create from those vertexs a Convex Hull ( Convex Hull by Michael S.) then I have to make those Conex hull objects childs of the bone. After that I Bake in a way the animation that comes out in the Objects. This way I get collision Objects that I can use with Bullet and follows the skinned Object with the Action.

Thanks.

adding now…

Adding now?
Also another thing that it is usefull is to be able to set that armature at rest position. This way when there is allready an animation we will be able to switch armature to rest position parent the objects and then swhitch back to the normal mode and have the proper translation.
Also what I am trying to do it’s not something official. What I mean… It’s not part of Blender or Bullet project. Ofcurse after I finish I will share the code.

in CVS now , commit log

adding ob_arm.makeParentBone([ob1, ob2…], bonename)
ob.parentbonename is also settable now as long as it already has a bone parent

will “arm.restPosition = True” do what you want?

Yes arm.restPosition = True works as expected. Thanks.
Well thanks for the adition. I hope it was not very hard. Well I don’t have the knowledge and the ability to build the CVS. So I will create a first vertion of it that you will have to add the bones manually.

Thanks.