Help with boolean difference modifier.

Hey all,

This is my first post so be gentle! :slight_smile: Any help/advice/critisicm is appreciated, I am new at this.

I am trying to create a 3d model of a headlight bracket for a car. I thought the easiest way might be to model the projector and then use the boolean modifier difference to create a tight-fitting bracket that I could 3D print.

So I modeled the projector but the difference modifier is not behaving. The projector is a pretty complex object and I extended the bolt holes as cylinders so they would “punch” through another object. I checked the normals to the best of my ability (which is small) and they look ok.

I think the problem lies in the way that I modeled the projector. I created a bunch of simple objects and then used Join to coalesce them into one object. This means there are a lot of vertices “inside” the object. It is not a simple shell, although having it as a simple shell would be good. I’m pretty sure that I did not do the easiest thing with respect to creating this complex object and now I am asking if it can be fixed, or if I should just start over and use some better method of “join”-ing these things together…

Thanks in advance.

Attachments

FX-r-broken.blend (756 KB)

Hey good job so far and welcome to the forum.

My advice when ever I see this kind of thread is; never use booleans ever. Many people use booleans to try to save time, the trouble is that any time you save you will lose in mesh cleanup as soon as you try to subsurf or animate your object.

If you upload an image that you are working off of I may be able to do a quick video showing how to do what you are trying to do.