help with code

(sorry, I tried to make the title of the post a summary of its contents but I couldn’t came up with a phrase short enough)

Ok, so I’m new at this BPython stuff, and I’m trying to code a very simple 2D Cellular Automata field, applying the “rule of life”. You don’t have to know what those are to help me, though.

Basically, I’m creating a grid of NxN cubes and making them switch layers to create an “on/off” effect.

this is the code that I have:

import random
from Blender import *

#setup a “scene” and “mesh” that later functions refer to

es = Scene.GetCurrent()
mesh = Mesh.Primitives.Cube(1)

#create a “grid” dictionary where I store information on single cells of the grid

Grilla = {}

#a “cube” function, to create a cube

def Cubo(x,y,nombre):
ob = Object.New(“Mesh”,nombre)
ob.LocX=x
ob.LocY=y
ob.link(mesh)
es.link(ob)
return ob

#this function creates the NxN grid, and toggles cells randomly on or off(layer 2 or layer 1)

def Inicio(l):
for i in range(l):
for j in range(l):
nombre = str(i)+“x”+str(j)
cubo = Cubo(i,j,nombre)
cubo.Layer = random.randint(1,2)
vecindad = Vecindad(i,j)
Grilla[nombre] = [cubo,vecindad]

#function to generate a neighborhood(list of strings to use as dictionary keys) for each cell

def Vecindad(x,y):
Vec = []
for i in range(-1,2):
for j in range(-1,2):
nombre = str(x+i)+“x”+str(y+j)
Vec.append(nombre)
return Vec

#function to analyze the neighborhood and return a the number of cells turned on in the neighborhood

def Regla(nombre):
cont = 0
for i in range(len(Grilla[nombre][1])):
celda = Grilla[nombre][1][i]
if Grilla.has_key(celda):
cont +=(Grilla[celda][0].Layer)-1
return cont

#function to make the grid advance a generation(for each grid in the cell it computes the neighborhood value and decides to turn it on or off)

def Generacion():
valores = Grilla.values()
for i in range(len(valores)):
ob = valores[i][0]
nombre = valores[i][0].name
vec = Regla(nombre)
if ob.Layer == 2:
if vec > 4 or vec < 2:
ob.Layer=1