Help with reflections/lighting

Hi,
I am working on a model, which will enventually be a rendered still image. The main subject is a military medal (or at least will be once the model is finished). I am fine with the modelling side of life (I think).
The medal should look gold and has a lot of Ray Mirror applied. The scene is empty. I have read and been totally confused about Environment maps and how to use them. I understand that I need to have something to reflect, but don’t know the best way to achieve it.
My goal is to have the medal looking nice and shiny surrounded by black.
If someone could point me in the right direction I would be very gratful. I am completely self taught and confess to having knowledge of perhaps 10% of Blenders capabilities.

Cheers… O’h and merry christmas.

Attachments

There are multiple ways to do it. Probably the easiest would be with composite nodes. Another easy way would be to load an image into a texture channel and set to ‘refl’ as map input. also maybe set the blending mode to ‘add’.

Yep, you see you have me there because although that makes perfect sense to almost everyone else… to me it’s a bit like Klingon… if someone would care to break that down a bit or point me to a “dummies” tutorial I could prolly work my way through it. Sorry to be thick … but at 42 yrs I may have left it too late in life to try to start modelling… :confused:

Ok, so I had a go and got really confused. (glad I copied my original).

What I ended up doing was adding a plane -> adding a new material which I applied a texture (image) to. I then positioned this so that the reflection wold be seen from the camera angle.

OMG the difference it made was dramatic… I just feel that I have come up with A “work-a-round” rather than using the corrrect method…

Attachments