Help with rendering!

Hello everyone, I’ve recently started learning Blender. I’ve had some experience with CAD, but I am now starting to render and learning about it. I’m a freelancer and would like to do product renderings and animation.

I would love for you guys to help me figure out why my renders are so flat.
If there is any tutorial you can recommend for making this better, I would really appreciate it.

hey @anacbl ! I have first a few questions before the answers : :sweat_smile:

Are you rendering with cycles or Eevee ?
Are you trying to go the closest as possible of realism, or you prefer an another style or just simply do not care about that ?
What do you mean by flat ? what do you want more elaborate, lighting ? modeling ? shaders and textures ?

sorry for all this questions so suddenly :sweat:

Hey @Kazrarr ! No problem, glad to answer the questions. Currently I am using Eevee. I am trying to render products as realistic as possible. The textures/materials need some work, in my opinion. I would like to give a bit more textile texture to the collar, since it it made out of cork textile. Light could also be improved.

In terms of what I would like to achieve, this would be a good example: Meze 99 Classics Headphones | Industrial Design

What kind of background is that? A plane? Looks odd since there is no contact shadow.

The lighting makes the object flat. Have you tried a 3 point light setup?

Also for a nice seamless background you can have a look here:

I have not checked the quality of the video but it should show you the basics.

For product lighting you usally go for a clean and bright look that you can see in the example in the link. To achieve that you can search for product light photography and then recreate the setup in blender. If thats a problem you can first watch basic lighting tutorials in blender to get used to the lights.

1 Like