Help with sequence editor

im trying to connvert video footage into a targa file so i can run it through VooDoo and the video keeps rendering all white noise like. heres what its doing

Vid: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hqWKFkY4rew

Note: that video is the actual blender, followed by the video itself. and im using the AVI codec for inutting videos.

What video codec in the AVI container?

the one thaat says AVI Codec.however if i render it out as a targa file, it does the same thing only each individual file is like that. i think its how im INPUTTING the videos since it does it with any video i try, but all it loads is AVI

imon blender 2.49 BTW

Sorry, misunderstood I thought you were inputing a codec in avi?

So what is the codec of the video you are inputting?

just so im understanding ur question right (im still new with this) the codec of a video would be whether its a .avi, .wmv. etc etc correct?

if so im inputting as a standard AVI

avi, wmv, mov are all just containers that the video is wrapped in.

Perhaps download mediainfo a free video reader and it will tell you what the codec is.

What was the source of the video, a camera phone, camcorder?

its off the cameraoff the ride itself, however ive tried other videos from different recorders and it doesnt change anything. and would GOM player give me the codec of the video?

Don’t know GOM player, try it and see if there is a media info or codec info menu option, many players give codec info.

just ran thru media info and this is what i got

input: avi 451 MiB
11s (i shortened the vid in blender)
1 video stream: RGBA
1 audio stream: PCM (microsoft)
TCOD: 0
TCDO: 113446667

output:
avi 137 MiB
4 s
1 video stream RGB

Does it import correctly into blender and playback? Are you using the VSE or Nodes?

Check render settings in blender, make sure field rendering is not selected. Render one frame to see result.