Hi all a little help please

Hi everyone,

I’m a gui designer, this is the kind of thing I do…

There’s a trend for the knobs to be viewed from a slight angle which basically means they have to be 3d so I’m trying to get my head around things but it’s proving painful :wink:

After a day here’s where I am at with things…

And eventually I’d like to be able to do things like this…

(that should illustrate the ‘off centre’ thing I mentioned)

I’m having real trouble drawing the basic knob shape. I’m starting from a circle (32 nodes) and grabbing nodes in alternate pairs and using ‘scale’ to drag them in. The hard part is rounding things off. I’ve done A LOT of reading in the past 2 days and apparently bezier curves are coming in april, will that solve my problem? If so I’ll wait till then, if not please let me know any techniques I’m unaware of.

So I can extrude, scale, split to get near where I want to be, the next challenge will be textures, lighting and animation (I simply need to rotate the whole image in 100 frames).

Please have a look at the blender file and let me know any workflow problem/errors, any advice at this stage would be great.

Thanks and I look forward to hearing from you.

Leeroy.

Apologies for splitting up my post but there was a limit on the amount of links I could use in a single post for some strange reason.

Nice gui! The knob looks fine in the file, but you’ve got some major geometry hiding somewhere - something like 2 million verts. No need for that! Get rid of that, and post some renders.

Yeah I noticed it was a little sluggish :wink:

Trouble is I don’t know what I’m doing, yet, so perhaps a better question would be, what’s the best way to make the knobs in my mockup? If I can get the basic shape right I can extrude it and take things from there.

If I could make this shape I could move on from where I’m at…

Like I said any help would be great as Blender seems like a big scary program at this stage :wink:

L