Home built Bi plane aircraft WIP and question

Hi all!

i’m new to blender i have been working on modelling a light biplane home built aircraft that i have designed (and hope to build for real too!!) here are some screen grabs

i hope to add much detail and render this model at some point but at the moment i am trying to use the aircraft geometry model as the basis of a CFD mesh in order to analyse the aircraft’s aerodynamics.

Hey, that’s a cool blender model you got(needs more work for an actual art piece though), but lets talk about the real life aspect…

What program(s) are you using for the CFD analysis/Structural Analysis/Stability Analysis/Power Requirements and so on…?

And the title suggests a question…but you have not asked one…

btw, scale the airplane down, if your are modeling to build, this should be an accurate model, thus remember 1Blender Unit = 1 meter (better yet switch to metric units in the scene tab (on the button toolbar next to the camera picture)

thanks! it’s pretty rough at the moment. The basic aircraft geometry has been created using the NASA vehicle sketch pad which is useful and easy use software for the basic modelling and conceptual analysis and design of aircraft and other vehicles. (More info on it can be found here www.openvsp.org/) Vsp will export models in STL file format which i have then imported into blender. VSP is fairly limited as a 3d modelling tool so the detail design will have to be done using blender.