Horse WIP

(To update thumbnail)

(Original: )
This is my current WIP. I’d like to hear some feedback on what I can improve. So far, the coat texture is bothering me, it looks too plastic. I’m not very experienced with materials, so the shader is very simple right now; just a diffuse + glossy with a physically based shading fresnel node. Any suggestions on how to improve the shader would be greatly appreciated. I handpainted the texture and I plan on adding more details to make it look more realistic.
I’ll be posting updates.

8 Likes

Not sure what there is to improve.
Looks perfect to me. :slight_smile:

For realism , I suggest using a particle system and adding short fur.
The plastic - appearance could be coming from the lighting.
At the moment , the lighting is flat , and that could be affecting the materials.

3 Likes

The anatomy is brilliant you’ve got an excellent model here!

To help with your material, I would increase the roughness of the glossy, because a horse isn’t smooth. I would add a subsurface, because especially in places like the ears you will get light scattering inside the skin, you don’t have to go overboard just subtle SSS helps the system interpret what it is dealing with. My last suggestion to improve this would be to add in some noise or grunge textures to make the coloration less clean and uniform. That will help make it more realistic.

I think that you’ve got a fantastic start here, that musculature is impressive and I’d love to see more angels of this model.

4 Likes

@The3DLioness
Thank you :slight_smile: I agree I need to work on the lighting, it’s not my strong suit. A particle system is a good idea! I might try making a texture from a particle system so it looks more like fur.

@TomTalented
Thank you! I’ve done a lot of drawings of horses, so that probably helped the anatomy. Great suggestions for the material, I’ll be implementing them :slight_smile:

1 Like