Hotkeys (shortcut) conflict prediction

Hi,

I was adding a shortcut a gew minutes ago, and i was thinking:
“How do i know if Ctrl Alt Shit D is already assigned ?”

Is trying “live” the only solution ?
I wasn’t able to search the editor for “Ctrl Alt”.

Hi Gwen,

I’m currently searching on google about assigning shortcuts but not having much luck. I want to assign inset faces to the ‘i’ key.
Any ideas?

Sorry I can’t help but I’m a few steps behind you :wink:

What is that operator ?
Where do you find it ? I couldn’t find that…

I think it replaces the inset extrude (which is a great tool). I’ve just installed 2.63rc1 so it might only be in that build.

So the assigning shortcuts thing?

Add inset under 3D View / 3D View (Global)

Attachments


Thanks Richard but I need a step before that, as a new user I would expect there to be a shortcuts tab under user preferences. So I need to get to the shortcuts window first :wink:

I would expect there to be a shortcuts tab under user preferences

File / User Preferences / Input

Demo: http://screencast.com/t/mluATN80cmj

Brilliant, thanks Richard :slight_smile:

So… a shortcuts tab? Good idea? :wink:

And sorry to Gwen for the OT, hope you get it sorted.

Ah. Indeed. It is new to 2.63.

No problems !

So, Gwen, I agree the shortcuts system needs an overhaul.

It would be good to be able to search the command name or the shortcut.
When assigning a new shortcut there should be a pop up window notifying the user of conflicts and give them the option to cancel or overwrite, unassigning the current command.
Key commands should be common across all the pages.

Also when you click save as default can blender not save your current project with it? :slight_smile:

Where can I put in a feature request? :slight_smile:

Also when you click save as default can blender not save your current project with it? :slight_smile:

Agreed !
This is quite annoying and rather unique to Blender i think !
I don’t know where you’d post feature requests though…

EDIT:
As of 2.63, the functionality has changed slightly. I think it is more logical, or at least, more in line with what other 3D programs do. Now, “Save as Default” and “Save User Settings” cause all blend files to load the same config. In previous versions of blender, the config was stored per blend file.