Hovering

Just a quick question- how do you create hovering in the game engine?

Thanks in advance

Add a plane above the ground plane and set as invisible. then have the player use the invisible plane as the one it walks on not the ground plane.

Hope this helps

What about other objects that I don’t want to hover?

This is what I do, create a “Always” logic brick and then connect it to a “Motion” brick and set the far right column in force to “9.80” and click the “L” next to it.I will upload a pic if you dont understand.

But wouldn’t that make me constanly go up?

It makes it levitating.

Another way is to set appropriate DYN values to the materials <F5> of the ground (Fh dist>0.0, Fh Force > 0.0). Enable “DoFh” at the rigid body object (<F4>).
The object will hover over the ground.

No it wont make it go up, 9.8 just negates the force of gravity

It’s been a while since i studied physics, but i believe the equation is W = mg, W is weight(The force that pulls down), m is mass, and g is gravity.

Gravity on earth, and the default gravity in blender is 9.8 newtons, so to negate the force of weight, which for an object with a mass of 1 would be W= 1 * 9.8 = 9.8, just put a force of 9.8 upwards along the z axis

as such with a higher mass you would need to calculate the weight again, for example, with a mass of 5, W would equal 5 * 9.8 which is 49.

Just set a ray sensor that senses anything with the property ‘ground’ on the -z axis. When it is triggered, have it go into a state where rigid body and/or the dynamics are suspended. Then, have the object always play a floating animation.

If you want it to be triggered by a player, just change the ray sensor into a keyboard sensor, then in the next state make another keyboard sensor to trigger out of it and go back into flying/falling mode.