How are "undo" and "repeat/history" supposed to work on Blender 2.5?

I’m new to Blender 2.5, and I’m having some difficulty in grasping how the undo and repeat/history features actually work.

Beginning with Undo, here’s an example of what I see on a reasonably current build (2.52.5, r29996).

1. Translate cube +4 units on Y axis.
  2. Select a different object.
  3. Press Ctrl-Z. Selection jumps back to the cube but doesn’t undo the translate operation.
  4. Press Ctrl-Z again. Now the translation is undone.

Ok, that seems to indicate that non-modification-related actions consume space in the “undo” stack. I can respect that. I don’t want that–but I can respect that others might want that behavior.

But here’s a variation of the above procedure that I don’t understand.

1. Create a new project. Note that the active tab of the Properties window is “Render”.
  2. Translate the default cube +4 units on the Y axis. Note that the Operator window shows the details of the operation.
  3. Switch to the “Object” pane of the Properties window to visually examine the transform settings.
  4. Press Ctrl-Z to undo the translation operation. Note that all that happens is that the Operator window and history list are cleared.
  5. Press Ctrl-Z again. Now the translation operation is undone.

So what actually happened in the first Ctrl-Z instance? What actually got undone? Interestingly, if I then Shift-Ctrl-Z two times, the first one re-does the translation, and the second one puts something on the undo stack, but I don’t know what; all I know is that it takes two more presses of Ctrl-Z to undo the re-done translation.

Now, related to undo is the repeat/history mechanism. The “Repeat Last” button seems to make sense: repeat that last action that exists in the “history” of actions. However, one press of Ctrl-Z seems to blow the history list away. So I’m not sure of what to make of that.