How can I animate an engine?

Hello, i am beginner here and trying to model 4 cylinder engine till now i have achieved bit of design and rotation of crankshaft and pistons, and I’ve added gears to crank for camshaft i have to animate my cameshaft and i have no idea how to animate pushrodes, rockers and valves with cam,

I have read all of the discussions but still not getting it and i am bad in english too.
Please help me.

Welcome to Blender Artists! Your question was unrelated to the topic where you posted it, so I moved it to it’s own place :slight_smile:

1 Like

Thank you.

1 Like

Hey, Welcome to BA !!
I have a bit of experience with this stuff - so much so I got tired of re creating these rigs so I built ‘Adjustable / Customizable’ ones, are you looking for something like this ? If you can post a file of what you have , that would be good.

1 Like

Hello,
yes this is something i have been looking for, in my model i have tried to design 4 cylinder engine but i think i have stretched crank too much, i’ve made gears to connect crank to cam but haven’t connected them yet because i might have to change design of cam shaft according to firing order of engine, biggest problem is i don’t know how to make those valves open by camshaft without making animations to them and how to press spring of valves, i have tried to move pushing rode by cam using shrinkwrap constraint and it worked i have not included that in my main project i 've been trying it on my another file, i have just started learning blender from last 15 days i know that’s too early for me to make this kinds of projects but i love engines and mechanisms.

here’s my file, https://ufile.io/a1tezd96

sorry website didn’t allowed me to upload file directly saying i’m a new user.
i have tried to under stand mechanism i want in some conversations here but i really didn’t understood them because my english is weak.

thank you for your time i really appreciate your help.

That link will not work for me