How can I demonstrate human bone fractures?

Hello,

I’m a complete newb when it comes to 3D content creation. To date I’ve used google sketchup with the sketchyphysics plugin to make some simple demonstrations, but I don’t think that software will suit my next task.

I’ve been asked to make a simple 3D demonstration of several simple types of long bone fractures. In short, I don’t know where to begin and whether blender will allow me to do this.

I found a similar video online: http://video.about.com/orthopedics/Fractures-1.htm

I would need to make a video similar to the sequence starting at 1:00 in the above link.

So I guess my questions are whether I came to the right place, and if so, how should I begin?

Thanks in advance…

Blender surely is the software to go with…
To me this is a rather trivial matter and done quite quick, but I work with Blender for years. I really can´t judge how long it would take to learn that.

You´d need to get a model of a skeleton, either buy one cheap, look for a free one, or make one yourself. If you only need to illustrate the breaking bones, it´s really easy.

You´d need knowledge of the animation basics, keyframing and shapekeys in Blender, along with the basic modelling tools and render, scene and lighting setup.
Depending on the requirements, stylized, photo realistic for instance the whole learning and creation process will vary.

I´d say you´d need around 3 months for that wihtout any prior blender knowledge if you spend 2-3h a day with Blender. 5 days a week.

Is it a commercial, educational or just a hobby project?

The accrual bone fracture sequence can be made quickly and simply or as difficult as you like.

Simple one involves modeling the bone, and model the broken one. Sequence them one after other so that it appear to brake. The brake is instantaneous you know.

Thank you for your response.