How can I fine tune these shadows

I have 2 images here. The 2nd has a single plane with emission which casts a soft shadow. The 1st image has an added sun lamp with a size 0 casting a sharp shadow.

I would like to only have the shadow from the lamp. How can I set this up? Also, I had to set the lamp light to 0.200 because at 1.0 it was too bright and it interfered with the scene. Is there a simple way to make the lamp cast a sharp shadow without brightening the scene?

I’m familiar with nodes but I have very little knowledge of them right now. So to summarize, I want to make sure that only one light source casts a shadow (a lamp) and other light sources (emissions) illuminate the scene, but don’t cast shadows. I’m using Cycles.

Here are the 2 images

Attachments

if you just want to brighten a scene without shadows just use environment lighting.

Not just the scene, but better control of the shadows. I need a very dark and sharp shadow of the table, without washing out the rest of the scene.

wineandcheese-
m9 is spot on- that’s what you want to do for easily bringing up the lighting intensity of your scene. For better control of shadows, I’m partial to the area lamp in cycles. Bigger lamp=more diffuse shadows. Smaller lamp= tight, crisp shadows. Just play with the scale of the lamp a bit. You’ll find your sweet spot.

Here is a Sun light set to a Size of 0.001. NOTE: You only get this option with actual Lamp objects. Emission based meshes do not have this feature.

Attachments

Use suggestions as listed above.
With your preferences try setting the sun to not cast shadows (+ add env.lighting), then add a lamp enabling “only shadows” (spot, sun, point, whatever). This should give you enough option for finetuning since the lighting and shadow are separate.