How can I get better deformations with this character?

(JasonBob45) #1

I’ve built this character and want to use him in an animation, so I started working on the rig… but I’m having major problems with the deformations. I’m pretty new to this stuff so I could really use some tips…

I’m using vertex groups with weight painting, no envelopes.

Here’s some pictures of the character, and a quick pose to show the problems with the deformation.

Any help would be immensely appreciated!

0 Likes

(Orinoco) #2

Welcome to the wonderful world of rigging and unsightly mesh deformations.

Take a look at the thread on Bone Roll Angles in my sig. I am by no means an expert, but it will get you started. There’s a link to jbousa’s blen-rig, which is very complex and lifelike. Also look for threads by alvaro and blackboe, who have done a lot of rigging experimentation and work. In addition, download mancandy and Calvin’s Sad Bob and check out how they are rigged.

0 Likes

(Calvin) #3

Make sure the armature modifer is FIRST.

0 Likes

(jpbouza) #4

For that character I´d recommend downloading the latest SVN from www.graphicall.org and applying the ARMATURE modifier with the new QUATERNION option enabled. That will give you a lot more flexibility when it comes to deformation.

For what I can see in the pictures you´ve attached, the main problem with your rigging is that you didn´t weight paint the character in a ´´gradual´´ manner.
You have to weight paint better transitions between bones, not just paint it all RED. Start with RED in the main areas and go lowering to yellow, green, and blue as you come closer to the next bone.
The weights between neighboring bones are usually overlapped.

First, you have to animate the rig and and make it move through the basic poses that you want your character to be able to do.
Once you have the key poses, start weight painting, and very patiently assign proper weights in order to achieve the best deformation in the current pose.