How can i rig a pre-rigged model?

hello artists! i am working on a movie and i am new to blender so i’m not sure how to rig an already rigged model. i downloaded a free rigged model. but, i want to add some extra animations and movement to it. i appreciate any answer. as i said i’m new to blender so please i want kind of a specific guide answer. like how i put the key frames on the already baked animation or the existed ones. thank you all.

Watch this tutorial i had made till about 2 min marks, should be about to remove all the data and have a free mesh https://youtu.be/bHLbVdYgjIg

1 Like

What kind of rig did you downloaded? Need little more information. But generally in blender you can edit any rig for your need. You can add new deform or control bones, add drivers constraints and do what you want, but you must understand what you are doing not to break original rig, so firstly you should understand how rig you gonna edit is build - constraints, drivers, parent\child relationships between bones, what bones are deforming and what are controls or mechanism bones. Character rigging is not trivial task for newbies. So begin from something simple to get into rigging, watch youtube tutorials it’s very helpfull. Good luck.

1 Like