How can one add a new color space to Blender?

I am fairly new to Blender (although I’m a 20-year veteran from a commercial 3D package that has been orphaned). I am amazed by Blender’s capabilities; but struggling a bit to get my arms around all the hidden options.

Much of my work is with a product line that features bright yellow packaging. If I am forced to work in sRGB color space, it is a constant battle to keep the yellow tones from going green. To look right, the yellows in these subjects must shade darker with magenta leading cyan (after separation). A bit too much blue and the packaging looks unacceptably drab.

Over the course of many years 3D work with this product line, I have found that working in 16-bit ProPhotoRGB for my image textures (converted directly from CMYK label print art) gives me the least trouble when separating my renders for commercial printing. My method is to set up my textures in ppRGB, import the texture allowing the program to assume they are sRGB, render my art and export with an sRGB profile; but assign ppRGB when importing the render into Photoshop. This works quite well.

My question is: Is there a way to get the ppRGB colorspace loaded into Blender so I can let Blender know that’s what I’m working in? That way, I can rely on Blender to transform the colors correctly on screen so I get a truer picture of what my art will look like when it gets to Photoshop. I could then also save it with the ppRGB profile embedded in it.

I can work “in the dark,” knowing that the colors will snap back “true” once I reprofile in Photoshop; but it would sure be nice to be able to see the colors correctly while still in Blender.

Any help will be appreciated.

Do you mean you need to import ProPhoto-RGB-encoded texture and export in PPRGB as well? Are you exporting the 3D render or just a compositor-graded version of the imported texture?