How could I rig this loose reptile skin?

Hello all,

I’m fairly new to blender and have been working my way up my very first sculpted, retopologized and rigged model (a cartoony dilophosaurus). I’m currently still fixing all the kinks and glitches with the armature and have an issue figuring out how I can get the hanging/loose skin on it’s neck.
Previously it would stretch too much when I moved the head around, so a friend suggested I add a bone and weight paint it to this section so that it preserves its shape better. This worked, however now I have to manually move/rotate the bone whenever I move the head to shape this skin appropriately. I don’t want it to stretch too much, and would like it to remain shaped like a mound even when the neck is stretched outward. Is there anything I could do? Alternate setup, any constraints perhaps?
Apologies for my poor blender vocabulary :sweat_smile:
fd54edf34f5e4c1e976b441683754818

1 Like

There is an addon called Jiggle Bones that might work. However I’ve never used it on an actual project so I can’t be certain.

that’s a nice chicken you have.

As captainkirk said you can directly use the Jiggle Bone addon. Or you can simply use 2 boxes with their physics setted to “rigid bodies” : parent a box to the head (so that box will not move). The second box will have a rigid body constraints with the first box as “target” ; so the second box will be like attached by a wire to the first box. Last, parent your fatty neck bone (with bone constraints) to the second box , so it will follow its movements submitted to physics law. This method is used to making ragdolls

2 Likes

Or, maybe, you could constrain the loose bone to (partially) follow the last bone of the neck (the nearer to the head) with a ‘Child of’ constraint.
Or you could even make this bone a real child of the last bone of the neck, and partially constrain it to the head.

2 Likes

Does JiggleArmature work with 2.8?